Shaman – EN

shaman_cover.jpg

plume

A SHAMANIC ADVENTURE
FOR LIFE

plume

From the farthest parts of Middle East to the deepest forests of Latin America, from the hottest regions of Asia to the coldest mountains of North America, people are born, live, love, and give birth in the same order that we all know.

However, some of them will go through this process in a very different way than yours.

As we’re starting our new creative agency Shaman, we wanted to know what it’s like to give birth with people that have like us, a different vision. We went looking all around the world for incredible stories and surprising characters. And we found out that Shamans have always helped giving life to everyone’s dearest wishes.. So we sure hope to do the same for you.

 
 

CUNA_visuel_verylow.jpg

plume

CUNA TRIBES,
THE WAY OF LIFE

plume

Among Cuna beliefs, Ibelel is definitly the most important divinity. He is the one who introduced social life and material culture to the first Cuna Tribes and observes the human behaviors every day from the Sun.

But divinities are not the only ones who matter for the tribe: the twelve shamans, called nele, are crucial personages who helped them all along their History. We’re about to tell you the incredible story of the godess Muu and the shaman’s role at the moment of birth.

Before all, you need to know that there are three kinds of shaman in Cuna culture: nele, inatuledi, and absogedi. The nele has the highest position, attributed by the others. He cannot become a nele voluntarily and he’s a true expert in myths, history of the group and cures for sicknesses. The Inatuledi provides medical care to heal – he has usually learnt his knowledges with an other shaman. He’s the closest to what we could refer to a doctor in an occidental thinking. The Absogedi prevents illness by magical ways, spells and rituals.

In the Cuna culture, the shaman is called during difficult childbirth. His cure consists in chanting a medicinal song called The Way of Birth. The lyrics tell the story of the nele himself, in his quest for the search of Muu’s house, the divinity responsible for the creation of foetuses and the soul of the uterus. Even though not evil, Muu sometimes captures the soul of the patient’s uterus, stopping her from giving birth! The mythical song describes the shaman’s fight against Muu and her daughters and how he beats them thanks to… magical hats! Once defeated, Muu agrees to free the soul and collaborates in bringing a succesfull birth. Our nele can now enjoy a well deserved rest after a long day of mental wrestling.

Even though not evil, Muu sometimes captures the soul of the patient’s uterus, stopping her from giving birth

 
 

SIBERIAN_visuel_verylow.jpg

plume

NENET TRIBES,
A REVERENCE FOR SKY SPIRITS

plume

The female shaman-midwife in the Nenet community plays a key-role into the birth process

In Siberia and Mongolia, shamanism is known as Tengerism, a quite antic religion where the sky is the father of all humans, and the Earth, their mother. It reflects an animistic belief system where everything in the natural world is alive, and inhabited by spirits.

These spirits have to be respected and appeased or else the land would become infertile, the animals supply for food would disappear and eventually the world would come to an end… To avoid such a dramatic situation and achieve this vital balance between humans, nature and the spirit world, a magical specialist is required – that is when our shaman gets in the game.

The female shaman-midwife in the Nenet community plays a key-role into the birth process. She’s here to ensure that babies are coming to this world safely in a physical and spiritual sense, by protecting them from evil influences. Immediately after a birth, the shaman-midwife cuts the umbilical cord and then purifies the new-born baby with salt water and fire. Among the witnesses, you can only see women who have first been ritually purified by the midwife with fire and water as well.

During the first few weeks of a baby’s life, it’s important that the proper rituals are performed to protect the child while its spirit gets fully established in the material world. If they are not performed properly, the baby’s spirit might return from where it came. Our shaman’s work is a long-term labor.

INUIT_visuel_low.jpg

plume

INUIT TRIBES,
A BAPTISMAL CEREMONY

plume

Unlike many Siberian traditions, in which spirits kind of force individuals to become shamans, most Inuit shamans willingly choose this path. Even when someone receives a “calling”, that individual may refuse it.

The process of becoming an Inuit shaman usually involves a lot of learning and initiation rituals. The Inuit shaman is always considered having special qualifications: he may have been an animal during a previous period and thus be able to use his valuable experience for the benefit of the community. Helping to give birth is obviously one of these main qualifications.

For Inuit women, labor occurs not in the family home, but in a traditional birthing hut. The pregnant woman delivers her baby in a traditional squatting position, helped by the other midwives. After giving birth, the mother is isolated for a period of time according to the sex of her child: one month for a boy and two for a girl. Unfortunately, if the childbirth hasn’t succeed, the hut must be abandoned.

After an Inuit child is born, the shaman of the community performs a kind of baptismal ceremony. The baby is given a protective spirit, and a name is chosen. The Inuits usually name newborns after recently deceased family members. This practice is a sort of reincarnation: by taking on that relative’s name, the baby will also take on their qualities or strengths. Another interesting story: in hunting communities, the shaman will place a small ivory carving of a whale into the baby’s mouth, so that the child will grow up to be a good hunter.

After giving birth, the mother is isolated for a period of time according to the sex of her child: one month for a boy and two for a girl
HUICHOL_visuel_low.jpg

plume

HUICHOL TRIBES,
A SURPRISING SITUATION

plume

The Huichols believe that humans are created from the elements of the natural world and spiritual world

Huichol Indians are a small tribe of approximately 35,000 people living in central western Mexico. They are said to be the last tribe in North America to have maintained their pre-Columbian traditions. Indeed, their shamans and healers still practice today in the same way they did for generations! A lot agrees that their survival is partly due to the focus on their traditions, as well as their remote mountainous territory.

The Huichols believe that humans are created from the elements of the natural (fire, air, water and earth) and spiritual world. Because of this, each of us is a “miniature universe”, a mirror of both those worlds. All the knowledges and secrets of these two worlds are inside us and everything is (most of the time) perfectly arranged. Shamanism helps the Huichols to understand this duality and to live in harmony with it.

But shamanism also brings a lot concerning “the healing part of the job”.

In Huichol tribes, the shaman is often assisting a childbirth. He also gives advices and sets up a surprising situation: the father of the child sits above his labouring wife on the roof of their hut. Ropes are tied around his testicles and his wife holds onto the other ends. Each time she feels a painful contraction…she tugs on the ropes so that her husband will share some of the pain of their child’s entrance into the world! A “fair way” for a situation where the women is often between life and death, don’t you think ?

 
 

MUSLIM_visuel_low.jpg

plume

FAQUIR,
RELIGION & TRADITIONS

plume

A long time ago, in a context of capricious seasons and rare infrastructures, appeared a practice of indegenous healthcare, and shamanic rituals. Untill today, those practices have been used by the majority of the rural population of Bangladesh. People turn to the shamans for healing as their treatment is less expensive and less consuming.

But the most interesting part is when religion is mixed with shamanism. Despite a society where ancestral beliefs prevail (ghost, jinns, demons), the existence of faquirs and other kind of traditional healers cannot be overemphasized. Indeed, Islam doesn’t recognize those rituals, and tends to consider them dangerous. A quick look back in history: before the arrival of the Muslims, -the inhabitants of Bangladesh had strong animistic beliefs. When converted to Islam by the Sufis, they incorporated many of these beliefs, keeping them as a part of folk life. So religion became more syncretistic, and adaptable to people’s habits.

Once again, the birth situation is a good example of it. In the village of Jugia, the faquir (a woman) is recitating a mantra helping difficult childbirth – always attributed to the work of an evil spirit. She calls the name of the Hindu deities Rama, Laksmana, Sita and Mahadevo to chase evil spirits. Then, the shaman takes the name of Allah, Hazrat Muhammed, and Hazrat Fatima (daughter of the prophet Hazrat Muhhamed) while doing some sort of massage on the affected part of the body. If the mantra is well claimed, the birth should go fine. An interesting mixed process of ancient and religious rituals practiced by our shaman!

Before the arrival of the Muslims, the inhabitants of Bangladesh had strong animistic beliefs

 
 

SHAMAN_visual_low.jpg

plume

SHAMAN AGENCY,
FRANCE & BRAZIL

plume

Birth is a key moment in your project’s life. That moment when a crazy idea meets an organised strategy to turn into an unforgettable experience.

That’s why Shaman Agency guides you from the very-early conception of your product and campaign untill their full accomplishment.

Shaman is a creative & digital agency, crafting unique online and offline experiences all over the world.

 
 

Discover our website

 
 

signature

Story & Web-dev by Shaman
Photo by Unsplash
Illustration by Sacha Grellard

Shaman – FR

shaman_cover.jpg

plume

Une aventure shamanique
pour la Vie

plume

Des villes les plus éloignées du Moyen-Orient aux forêts les plus profondes d’Amérique Latine, des régions les plus arides d’Asie aux montagnes les plus glaciales d’Amérique du Nord, les gens naissent, vivent, s’aiment et mettent au monde dans ce même ordre que nous connaissons tous.

Cependant, certains d’entre eux le feront à travers un procédé bien différent du vôtre.

Alors que nous lançons notre nouvelle agence créative Shaman, nous voulions en savoir un peu plus sur les naissances, ceux qui la donnent, ceux qui l’assistent. Mais toujours du coté des personnes qui, comme nous, ont une vision un peu différente. Nous sommes donc parti autour du monde à la recherche d’histoires incroyables et de personnages surprenants. Et nous en sommes revenus avec une certitude: les Shamans ont toujours aidé à donner vie à votre désir le plus fort. Évidemment, nous souhaitons faire la même chose pour vous.

 
 

CUNA_visuel_verylow.jpg

plume

TRIBU CUNA,
LE CHEMIN DE LA VIE

plume

Parmi les croyances des Cuna, Ibelel est très probablement la divinité la plus importante : elle est celle qui a introduit la vie sociale et la culture matérielle aux premières tribus Cuna. Il faut dire qu’Ibelel observe aussi les attitudes des humains depuis le Soleil, oú il demeure.

Mais pour les Cuna, les douze nele (shamans) comptent aussi parmi les personnages déterminants de leur histoire. Nous aimerions vous conter l’incroyable récit de la divinité Muu et du rôle du shaman au moment de la naissance d’un enfant.

Avant tout chose, il est bon de savoir que l’on dénombre trois types de shaman dans la culture Cuna : les nele, les inatuledi et les absogedi. Le nele a la position la plus élevée, qui lui a été attribuée par les autres : il ne peut pas devenir nele par simple volonté. Il est un vrai expert en mythes, histoire de la tribu et spécialiste en cure des maladies. Le Inatuledi apporte les soins médicaux physiques, qu’il a appris et pratiqué de nombreuses fois, grâce à l’enseignement d’un autre shaman. Il est ce que l’on pourrait rapprocher le plus d’un médecin, du point de vue occidental. Enfin, le Absogedi a le pouvoir de prévenir les futures maladies par des compétences magiques, des sorts, et des rituels.

Dans la culture Cuna, le shaman est appelé en cas de naissance difficile. Le traitement de ce dernier consiste à chanter une chanson aux vertues médicinales : Le Chemin de la Vie. Les paroles content la propre histoire du shaman nele en quête de la maison de Muu, la divinité responsable de la formation du foetus et de l’âme de l’utérus. En effet, même si elle n’est pas malveillante, Muu capture parfois l’âme de l’utérus de la patiente, l’empêchant ainsi de donner naissance ! Le mythe chanté décrit la rencontre du nele avec Muu et ses filles, mais surtout le dur combat qu’il mène contre elles. Et enfin, sa victoire sur elles grâce à l’usage de… chapeaux magiques. Une fois Muu vaincue, elle accepte de délivrer l’âme de l’utérus et collabore à la réussite de la mise au monde de l’enfant. Notre shaman peut alors prendre un repos bien mérité après une lutte intérieure déchaînée !

Même si elle n’est pas malveillante, Muu capture parfois l'âme de l'utérus de la patiente, l'empêchant ainsi de donner naissance

 
 

SIBERIAN_visuel_verylow.jpg

plume

TRIBU NENET,
Une révérence aux esprits
du ciel

plume

La sage-femme shaman de la communauté Nenet joue un rôle clé dans le processus d’accouchement

En Sibérie et Mongolie, le shamanisme est né en lien avec le Tengrisme, une religion extrêmement ancienne oú le ciel est père des hommes, et la terre est leur mère. Il reflète les croyances animistes dictant que tout ce qui appartient au monde naturel est vivant et habité par des esprits.

Ces esprits doivent être respectés et apaisés au risque que la Terre devienne infertile, stérile, que les ressources de nourriture et les animaux disparaissent, et que le monde en vienne à mourir. Pour éviter une telle situation et atteindre ce équilibre vital entre les humains, la nature et le monde des esprits, un spécialiste de la magie est requis – c’est là que notre shaman rentre en jeu.

La sage-femme shaman de la communauté Nenet joue un rôle clé dans le processus d’accouchement. Elle est présente pour s’assurer que les bébés entrent dans ce monde sans encombre, tant spirituellement que physiquement, en les protégeant des influences malveillantes.

Immédiatement après la naissance, la sage-femme shaman coupe le cordon ombilical et purifie ensuite le nouveau né avec de l’eau salée et du feu. Les témoins de ce rituel (uniquement des femmes) ne peuvent être présents que s’ils ont d’abord été purifiés par la shaman avec les même éléments. Pendant les premières semaines de la vie du bébé, il est important que les rituels adaptés soient correctement appliqués pour protéger l’enfant jusqu’à ce que son esprit soit entièrement développé dans le monde matériel. Si ces rituels ne sont pas pratiqués comme ils devraient l’être, l’esprit du bébé pourrait retourner d’où il vient. Un travail sur le long terme donc, pour notre shaman sage-femme.

 
 

INUIT_visuel_low.jpg

plume

TRIBU INUIT,
une cérémonie de baptême

plume

Contrairement à de nombreuses traditions sibériennes où les esprits forcent en quelque sorte les individus à devenir shaman, la plupart des shamans Inuit ont choisi leur voie.

Même si quelqu’un reçoit un “appel”, cette personne a la possibilité de le refuser. Le chemin qui mène au titre de shaman implique en général bon nombre d’apprentissages et de rituels d’initiation. Le shaman Inuit est toujours considéré comme une personne aux multiples qualifications : il a sûrement été un animal lors d’une autre vie et ainsi sera capable d’utiliser cette expérience enrichissante pour le bien-être de la communauté. Aider à donner naissance fait évidemment partie de ses nombreuses compétences, et nous aimerions vous raconter comment cela se passe.

Pour la femme Inuit, l’accouchement ne se déroule non pas dans la maison familiale, mais dans une hutte réservée aux naissances. La femme délivre l’enfant dans une position accroupie traditionnelle, aidée par d’autres sages femmes. Après avoir donné naissance, la mère est isolée pendant une période qui correspond au sexe de l’enfant : un mois si c’est un garçon, deux si c’est une fille. Si la naissance a malheureusement échoué, la hutte doit être abandonnée.

Une fois l’enfant Inuit né, le shaman de la communauté performe une sorte de cérémonie de baptême. Il lui assigne un esprit protecteur et son nom est choisi. Le shaman donne au nouveau né le nom d’une personne récemment décédée parmi les membres de la famille. Cette coutume est une forme de réincarnation : en prenant le nom d’un proche, le bébé récupérera aussi les qualités et la force de ce dernier. Dans les communautés de chasseurs, le shaman placera une petite sculpture faite d’ivoire de baleine dans la bouche du bébé pour qu’il grandisse et devienne un bon chasseur à son tour.

Après avoir donné naissance, la mère est isolée pendant une période qui correspond au sexe de l’enfant : un mois si c’est un garçon, deux si c’est une fille

 
 

HUICHOL_visuel_low.jpg

plume

TRIBU HUICHOL,
Une situation étonnante

plume

Les Huichol affirment que les humains ont été crées à partir des éléments du monde naturel et du monde spirituel

Les Huichol sont une petite tribu d’environ 35 000 personnes vivant dans la partie centrale-ouest du Mexique. On dit d’eux qu’ils sont la dernière tribu d’Amérique du Nord ayant maintenu leurs traditions précolombiennes. En effet, leurs shamans et guérisseurs pratiquent encore aujourd’hui et ce depuis des générations! Beaucoup s’accordent à dire que leur survie est due en partie à la préservation de leurs traditions ainsi qu’à leur territoire montagneux isolé.

Les Huichol affirment que les humains ont été crées à partir des éléments du monde naturel (le feu, l’air, l’eau) et du monde spirituel. Toute la connaissance et les secrets de ces deux mondes se retrouvent à l’intérieur de nous, et tout est (en général) parfaitement organisé. Le shamanisme aide les tribus à mieux comprendre cette dualité et permet de vivre en harmonie avec elle.

Mais ce n’est pas tout, car comme vous vous en doutez, ce même shamanisme aide aussi les communautés avec son savoir et ses pratiques sanitaires.

Dans les tribus Huichol, notre shaman assiste et aide à la naissance des enfants. Il donne surtout des conseils, mais met aussi en place une situation pour le moins surprenante : le père de l’enfant s’assoit sur le toit de la hutte à l’intérieur de laquelle sa femme est en train d’accoucher. Des cordes sont attachées à ses testicules et sa femme en tient les extrémités. Chaque fois qu’elle ressent une contraction douloureuse…elle tire sur l’une des cordes afin que son mari partage un peu de la douleur de l’arrivée de leur enfant dans le Monde ! Une “manière plus équitable” pour une situation où la femme se retrouve souvent entre la vie et la mort, ne trouvez-vous pas ?

 
 

MUSLIM_visuel_low.jpg

plume

FAQUIR,
Religion et Traditions

plume

Dans un contexte de saisons capricieuses et de rares infrastructures médicales, sont apparues il y a longtemps les pratiques d’une médecine indigène et de rituels shamaniques. Ces derniers sont encore utilisés aujourd’hui par une grande partie de la population rurale du Bangladesh. Les gens se tournent vers les shamans pour se soigner car leur traitement est moins cher et plus éthique.

Mais la partie la plus intéressante de cette culture est lorsque religion se mélange avec shamanisme. Malgré une société aux croyances ancestrales (fantômes, djinns, démons), l’existence des faquirs (shamans) et autres types de guérisseurs traditionnels ne peut être surestimée. En effet, l’Islam, pratiqué là-bas, ne reconnaît pas ces rituels, et a tendance à les considérer dangereux.

Faisons un petit retour dans l’histoire : les habitants du Bangladesh avaient de fortes croyances animistes avant l’arrivée des musulmans. Une fois convertis à l’Islam par les Soufis, ils ont intégré plusieurs de ces croyances à la religion, en les conservant comme une sorte de folklore. Ainsi, la religion est devenue plus syncrétique et adaptable aux croyances des habitants.

La naissance d’un enfant en est un bon exemple. Dans le village de Jugia, le faquir (une femme) récite un mantra pour aider les naissances difficiles – celles-ci étant souvent attribuées à l’oeuvre d’un esprit malveillant. Elle appelle les noms des divinités Hindu que sont Rama Laksmana, Sita et Mahadevo pour chasser les mauvais esprits. Puis, la shaman invoque Allah, Hazrat Muhamed, et Hazrat Fatima ( la fille du prophète Hazrat Muhamed) tout en réalisant un type de massage sur les parties affectées du corps de la patiente. Si le mantra est correctement récité, la naissance devrait bien se passer. Un intéressant processus où rituels antiques et religieux se complètent.

Les habitants du Bangladesh avaient de fortes croyances animistes avant l’arrivée des musulmans

 
 

SHAMAN_visual_low.jpg

plume

SHAMAN AGENCY,
FRANCE & BRéSIL

plume

La naissance est un moment clé dans la vie de votre projet. Ce moment même oú une idée folle rencontre une stratégie organisée pour mieux se transformer en expérience inoubliable.

C’est pourquoi Shaman Agency vous guide des premiers pas de la conception de votre produit ou votre campagne, jusqu’à leur entière réalisation.

Shaman est une agence créative digitale développant des expériences online et offline uniques tout autour du Monde.

 
 

Découvrez notre site

 
 

signature

Histoire & Web-dev par Shaman
Visuels par Unsplash
Illustrations par Sacha Grellard